It can be reached by the railway line Belgrade – Bar or the asphalt main road Belgrade – Podgorica, via Nova Varoš and Bistrica.
It is located on the central elevation in a deep, wooded and lovely valley, surrounded by the mountains of the Starovlaška heights.
In the north stands Crni vrh, covered in pine foresta and in the south is Lisja stena, covered in linden trees and junipers. Mountain Pobiljenik stretches along the left side of the Lim.
The geographic position of this locality was the decisive factor in its history. Thermal and mineral springs, the dominating position of the plateau over the river, the hilly and wooded hinterland, have all contributed to the forming of this settlement during the Roman period. With its position on the main road leading from Bosnia to Constantinople, the spa was a place where many travelers and caravans stopped for a rest. During the period of the Nemanjić dynasty, the place had an organized hospital in which Saint Sava received treatment for his ailing legs.
According to popular tradition, King Uroš, the son of King Stefan Prvovenčani was cured here. The old Turkish baths confirm that the healing waters were indeed used by the Ottoman Turks when they ruled these lands.
Pribojska banja is mentioned for the first time in history through the records and works of the Arab geographer Muhammad Al – Sharif Al – Idrisi, from the times of King Roger II the Norman. A geographical map of the world, made around the year 1153, shows a small number of toponyms from Serbia and among them is Bania, marked as a small fortified town on the banks of the Lim, located in the place where Banja is situated today.
Statistical yearbooks of the Kingdom of Yugoslavia from 1929 until 1933 list as popular spas of Serbia seventeen places, and Pribojska banja is among them.