Vaznesenje monastery

  • District: Moravica
  • Municipality: Čačak
  • Post code:
  • Area code: ( + 381 ) 32
  • Phone:
  • Web site:
  • Contact / booking:
  • Contact / booking:

The Monastery of Vaznesenje ( the Ascention of the Lord ) was erected on he north slopes of Mount Ovčar.
Because of its location in a recess in the gorge it can be hardly seen by travellers who are passing by.

Supposedly, the monastery was erected on the old site, but there is no evidence of that . Due to a Gospel Manuscript written at the Monastery of Vaznesenje in 1570, we are sure that the monastery existed in the 16th century.

The monastery was most probably ruined during Great Migrations in 1690 like most monasteries in the gorge.
There were attempts to restore the monastery on several ocassions but it was not until the 1930s that the Bishop Nikolaj Velimirović started the renovation works.

The monastery church is a single – nave building with a low dome and a semi – circular altar apse.
Two marble rosettes with plants ornamentations, have been preserved in the narthex and the central church area.

The iconostasis of the monastery church contains the icons of small size, because of the small size of the church.

Patron Saint’ s Day of the monastery is the Vaznesenje ( the Ascention of the Lord ).

Ad Blocker Detected

Our website is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors. Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker.

Refresh